Cake & Ice Cream Together At Last!

23 Mar

I saw the idea for the ice cream cupcake on http://apumpkinandaprincess.com/2012/03/ice-cream-cupcakes.html and they looked so good I decided to give them a try. I had a bunch of batter left over so I made a cake in a loaf pan also.

It was a lot easier than I thought to make & it is soooo good! I used mint chocolate chip because that’s a favorite around here and chocolate cake on the bottom. I didn’t have frosting so I used some whipped cream on top and sprinkles. This is perfect for parties and you don’t have to serve ice cream separately. Plus its just more fun this way!

ICE CREAM CUPCAKES:  

1 cake mix – any flavor, prepared according to box

1 quart ice cream -

1 tub whipped cream or frosting

sprinkles or chocolate chips(optional)

Preheat oven to 350. Place paper cupcake liners in cupcake pan and place about 2 tbsp of batter in each. Bake for about 10 minutes. Once the cupcakes are completely cool, spread softened ice cream on each one. Place in freezer immediately. Wait about 45 minutes and then frost with desired topping.

For the cake I did the same thing, except I poured batter in a loaf pan and baked for about 40 minutes.

SUGGESTIONS: make sure you put these in the freezer until ready to eat – as you can see from the picture mine melting as I was trying to get a good pic.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

