Low Calorie Mocha Frappuccino Alternative

7 Apr

I was in line at Starbucks the other day ordering my usual iced green tea and while I was waiting at the counter I heard the lady in front of me get a raspberry green tea frappuccino. So of course the next day I ordered thinking it can’t be too bad if I get it with soy and no whip. UM, WRONG! I looked it up and it’s freaking 420 calories!! This led me to my own kitchen to try to come up with a lighter drink that still tasted good. I would have liked to use green tea, but I don’t have any powder so I went for a coffee and chocolate – can’t go wrong there!

I came up with a mocha frappuccino type drink that contains about 130 calories for a 20 oz.

INGREDIENTS:

1 1/2 cups brewed coffee, really strong

1 cup vanilla Silk soy milk (or skim or 2 %)

5 tsp no calorie sweetener

1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

ice

whipped cream (I use whipped topping – 25 calories per 2 tbsp)

Put all ingredients (except whipped cream) in blender and blend on high until desired consistency. Top with whipped and enjoy!

You may have to adjust some of the amounts to come up with something that suits your tastes, but this is a great alternative to a sugary, calorie filled frappuccino.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers

