The cheapest, easiest fabric cleaner ever!

9 Sep

If you’ve been following along, you know that lately I’ve been in what I call my “Martha mode”. It cracks me up because I’m not usually like this at all…..I buy my stuff at the store and move on. I’m not sure what started all this, but it was probably when I went to buy my body wash and the price had gone up by almost $2 and then I went to the laundry aisle and about stomped away looking at the price of fabric softener. I figured there had to be a better way then just to suck it up and pay it…….there is. The first thing I did was go to Pinterest for ideas and it didn’t disappoint. I found so many different things I can make myself at home for so much cheaper!

The first thing I tried was deodorant - a total success! I gave some to my teenage daughter and my sister who are just as picky as I am and they love it! This motivated me to try body wash and since that was another success, I may have gone a little crazy mixing stuff up yesterday :)

I tried a homemade cleaner last month and was disappointed by the results – it was vinegar & Dawn dish soap mixed together in a spray bottle. I decided to try it again, but this time I didn’t measure it out(I HATE EXACT MEASUREMENTS!) and I warmed it up. SO MUCH BETTER!  I have a high kitchen table which required me to buy stools and the only ones I could find that I could afford had microfiber cushions. I have 3 kids – one of which is a toddler, a “spill prone” husband, 2 cats and a dog so do I really need to paint you a picture of why these are not the best idea? They get so filthy and show every bit of juice spilled and dirty paw print left. I’ve tried scrubbing with hot soapy water, windex, fabric cleaner & rubbing alcohol, which everyone swore by. Nothing worked! On an impulse I decided to spray on the vinegar/Dawn mixture……I can’t even tell you how good this stuff is. The minute I sprayed it on I knew it was going to work……..I sprayed on enough to saturate the cover, scrubbed with a sponge and let dry. Telling you isn’t going to get my point across so of course I took pictures so you can see.  The best part about this is not only that the cost is ridiculously low, but the vinegar is a natural odor absorber – but you do have to put up with it smelling like vinegar for a few hours.

 

As I said, I don’t use exact measurements but I will try :

Cleaner:

Get a small saucepan and fill about 3/4 full with white vinegar. Add about 2-3 tbsp Dawn dish soap. Heat on medium high until its well mixed and hot – not boiling! Let cool just enough to pour into a spray bottle. I’ve used this to clean the bathtub, toilet, sinks, and now the cushions. Instead of the stove, you can heat up mixture in microwave for about 3 minutes – just be careful taking bowl out!

I probably need to “fluff” up the cushion with a brush, but you get the idea. They look almost new! This works on couches too…..if you want, try a spot first to make sure nothing reacts but I sprayed this all over my couch which is about the same material and it really cleans it!

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “The cheapest, easiest fabric cleaner ever!”

  1. Terri at Time To Be Inspired September 9, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Doesn’t look like the same cushion!

  2. gelisgoodies September 9, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    I know….I was pleasantly surprised! I wonder what else I can spray this on…..haha

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Finding my own way… « Geli's Goodies - September 17, 2012

    [...] All Purpose Cleaner- this is awesome! It cleans the cushions on the chairs in my kitchen and makes them look new! I also use it for the bathtub, appliances, countertops, fridge, etc. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 201 other followers

