Spinach Smoothies…..yes please!

6 Feb

First, I have to say that I’m addicted to these smoothies as is my 17 month old daughter. I realize putting spinach in a smoothie may make some of you throw up a little in your mouth. But if you can get past the look of them, they taste better than you would think! I won’t lie to you though….If you like your smoothies sweet this probably isn’t for you. I don’t add any sugar…..the only sweetener is the soy milk and fruit. But I’m sure you could add sugar, Splenda or honey and it would turn out fine. This is the “recipe” I usually use, but there are so many possible combinations so have fun!

 

INGREDIENTS:

1 large apple, peeled and sliced

1 banana, sliced

1 handful strawberries, sliced (you can use frozen or fresh)

3/4 cup Silk Vanilla Soy Milk

1 cup water

1 handful ice

Fresh spinach(Add as much or as little as you want)

Put all ingredients in blender, i usually put spinach last, and blend until smooth. Pour into your favorite cup & enjoy!

I’ve also used collard greens, but make sure you add a little more water because they tend to make it a lot thicker. One more thing, if you are going to eat these every day(and I know you will), I’ve read that eating too much spinach can be toxic so its best to rotate greens every couple days.

One Response to “Spinach Smoothies…..yes please!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chocolate Banana Berry Smoothie with Spinach - December 26, 2013

    […] Recipe adapted from Geli’s Goodies […]

Leave a Reply

