Punch In The Face Carrot Cake

8 Feb

The name may need a little work. The cake however turned out better than expected. I’m usually horrible at scratch cakes….they always seem to come out tasting like cornbread. But this carrot cake is flavorful, dense and moist. Its definitely making it to the cookbook. The “punch” comes from adding the cayenne pepper to the batter……yes, I’m a little nuts. If you are feeling adventurous, you can add a teaspoon or two to the icing to give it an extra kick.

Ok the reviews are in: My husband said its excellent, my seven year old said it was so good he ate everything on the plate, my one year old snarfed the whole piece & my 14 year old isn’t here, but I have a feeling she would give the thumbs up.

CARROT CAKE:                                                                   

Ingredients

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups vegetable oil
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsps baking soda
  • 2 tsps baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 ½ tsp cayenne pepper
  • 3 cups grated carrots

FROSTING:

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 4 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour either a 9×13 or bundt pan(I prefer bundt).
  2. In a large bowl, beat together eggs, oil, white sugar and 2 teaspoons vanilla. Mix in flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt  cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves & pepper. Stir in carrots Pour into prepared pan.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven for 40 to 45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean.
  4. To Make Frosting: In a medium bowl, combine butter, cream cheese, confectioners’ sugar and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Beat until the mixture is smooth and creamy. Frost the cooled cake.

Just a suggestion: After the cake is done, I let it cool for a few minutes, but wrap it immediately in saran wrap and put it in the freezer for about an hour or two. I find it makes it a little more dense and moist.

2 Responses to “Punch In The Face Carrot Cake”

  1. Denise April 5, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

    This looks delicious! I might need to veganize it, and try it out! (I’ll send pics if I do)

    • gelisgoodies April 5, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

      Thanks Denise! I would love to know how this tastes as vegan- definitely keep me updated.

Leave a Reply

