Giant Cupcake

20 Feb

I swore after a few years of making the kid’s birthday cakes that I was done….its expensive, time-consuming and stressful. Then I had another baby and I forgot about all of that. I thought ok, I’ll just make her 1st birthday cake but after that I’m ordering them. She doesn’t turn 2 until September so I guess we’ll see how well that works.

I’m posting this because there are a lot of us moms and dads who want to make a cute cake for their kids but don’t have a lot of time or experience. The only other option is to order one and unless you have the money for a custom bakery cake, the grocery store is the only other option. Don’t get me wrong, you can get some cute ones there, but they don’t usually customize it. So I’m going to post directions on how to make this giant cupcake. It can work for a boy or girl, for a birthday or a baby shower and any flavor or color you want.

You will need:                                                        

1 bag candy melts – your choice of color

spatula

2 boxes cake mix, bake according to box

confectioners sugar

butter

vanilla

milk

sprinkles, candy or other decoration

fondant (optional)

 

 

DIRECTIONS:

CANDY CUPCAKE LINER:

This cake requires a giant cupcake pan…..I found the Big Top silicone one at my local Kmart for cheap. I know Wilton makes one too. You will also need candy melts – I found them at Walmart.

1. Melt 3/4 package of candy according to the package. Pour into the pan and using a spatula spread the mixture smoothly on the bottom and sides. Put it into the refrigerator until it’s firm – about 20 minutes. Melt the rest of the chocolate and use the spatula to put another thin coat of chocolate on. Make sure to cover any thin spots. Place back into fridge for about 30 minutes. Once the liner is completely firm it’s time to remove it from the pan. Since I used the silicone pan, its stretchy and makes it a little easier to get out. I turned mine upside down and used my other hand to hold it steady while it slid out. Once removed, place into the refrigerator until you are ready for it.

CAKE:

The bottom of the cake can be made one of two ways – either bake in the cupcake pan or you can bake 2 small 4″ cakes and set in. I used the cake pan, so that’s what I’m going to give directions for.

Make sure to wash pan completely before filling with batter. Don’t fill to top….probably just 3/4. You can use whatever cake mix or scratch recipe you want. If you use box mix, you may need 2.  Make cake batter, pour into pan – make sure to follow directions on box. Let the cake cool for 10 minutes and take out of pan. Put on cooling rack or flat surface and allow to cool completely. I like to wait until the cake is almost cool, wrap in plastic and stick in the freezer for about 20 minutes. This helps to trim the cake to fit into the liner.

Here’s a link  to a video I found that goes into depth how to fill, bake & trim the cakes –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iuf91NE4GX0

If you baked the cake in the pan, you may have to trim the sides to fit also.

After the cakes are completely cooled, set the bottom cake into the candy liner. Put a layer of frosting on the top (recipe below). Now place the top of the cupcake on the frosting & you are ready to decorate!

Buttercream Frosting :

3 cups confectioner’s sugar

1 cup butter

1 tsp vanilla

1-2 tbsp milk

Mix the sugar and butter on low until well blended. Add the vanilla and mix on medium for 3-5 minutes. Add milk and mix until spreading consistency.

 

At this point you can tint the frosting if you wish. Take your spatula and ice the cake. Next top with sprinkles, candy, or whatever you would like. I used fondant and cut circles out using the wide end of a cake tip. I also wrapped a cake board with wrapping paper that matched the theme of my party. I rolled out more fondant and cut out my daughter’s name in alphabet cookie cutters. The possibilities for this cake are endless. Be creative & have fun!!

 

Suggestions:

I can’t stress enough how important it is to grease your pan!!

Make sure to only fill the cake pan as directed – I learned the hard way and filled it too high. The batter overflowed, spilled all over my oven and my cake baked unevenly. It took me a few tries to get it right.

It may be easier to ice the top of the cake and then place on bottom – its your choice.

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Giant Cupcake”

  1. Tonia February 20, 2012 at 9:38 pm #

    Brilliant idea… So glad you posted this =)

Leave a Reply

