Low Carb Cheesecake w/ Chocolate Sauce

27 Feb

As you may know, I have a huge sweet tooth but have recently given up sugar. Lately I’ve been trying different desserts(mainly cheesecake) to come up with something that doesn’t taste sugar free. I’ll keep trying. I may need to use a different artificial sweetener or maybe a rich tasting low carb dessert doesn’t exist. I’m having a hard time accepting this, but I must move on to something new before I lose my mind. This was my latest attempt – a low carb cheesecake without the crust.  This helped when I was craving something sweet, but I’m not ready to add it to the cookbook until I make some adjustments.

                                                                                                                    

INGREDIENTS:    

Low Carb Cheesecake:                                                                                  

3 packages (8oz) cream cheese

1 cup splenda

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp lemon juice

1/4 cup sour cream

4 eggs

THE METHOD:

In a mixing bowl, beat cream cheese on medium until fluffy. Add each ingredient(eggs last) one at a time until extremely well mixed. After each ingredient, make sure to scrape down the sides with a spatula. After you are sure the ingredients are mixed well, beat for one more minute & pour into 9″ springform pan.

To Bake: I’ve tried many different cheesecakes at different temperatures and methods, but for this one I preheated the oven to 400 degrees. Set the cheesecake in the oven & turn down to 200 degrees and bake for 1 hour. It will be done when its a little jiggly in the center but firm on the sides. Cool in pan for 15 minutes then remove springform side and place in fridge until completely cooled. I placed mine in the freezer for an hour then set in the fridge.

Chocolate Sauce

1/2 cup Splenda

4 tbsp margarine

2 tbsp half and half

2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

2 tsp vanilla extract

THE METHOD:

For the sauce, in a small saucepan, bring Splenda, margarine, half & half, and cocoa to a boil. Stir frequently; then reduce heat to a simmer for 2 minutes, stirring constantly(very important!)  Remove from heat and stir for another 5 minutes. Drizzle over cooled cheesecake.

SUGGESTIONS:

I found this cheesecake tasted better completely cold so when I cut my piece, I stuck it in the freezer for about 10-15 minutes.

The chocolate sauce is very fussy so you may have to adjust the milk to cocoa ratio to get it to a suitable consistency.

To add color to the picture I drizzled caramel sauce. It’s not sugar free but it does add a nice flavor if you aren’t real strict with your carbs.

Reviews:

Tim said he liked it, but preferred regular cheesecake. He did eat a big piece of it last night and topped it with whipped cream and caramel sauce. Not low carb, but it did the trick.

Joey: He ate the whole piece and said it was good….that’s all I can ask from a 7 year old.

Me: I think I may have added too much lemon so that’s all I could concentrate on. The texture was pretty good….more creamy than cheesy. It was much better the second day when it was cold. I think fruit rather than chocolate would have tasted better with this particular cheesecake.

Leave a Reply

