Vegan Chocolate Cake

9 Mar

Last year when I was trying out the vegan lifestyle I of course had to look for an eggless chocolate cake immediately. I came across one that looked promising on http://www.instructables.com/id/The-BEST-chococlate-cake-ever…that-happens-to-be/ .  I have to admit I was very skeptical about how it would taste, but it has become one of my (and my family’s) favorites. It is very rich and dense and full of flavor. Its also a scratch recipe that isn’t fussy and can be tweaked with good results.

I doubled the original recipe and used a bundt pan instead of an 8×8. And don’t worry, you absolutely can not taste the vinegar. I promise.

Vegan Chocolate Cake:

CAKE INGREDIENTS:

2 1/2 cups flour
2 cup sugar
2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 cup warm water
2 tsp vanilla extract
2/3 cup vegetable oil
2 tsp distilled white or apple cider vinegar

Chocolate Glaze

1 cup sugar
1 stick margarine
4 tbsp soy milk
4 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
2 tsp vanilla extract

THE METHOD:

Preheat oven to 350. Mix all cake ingredients together with mixer until fully blended. Pour into greased bundt pan. Bake for 30 minutes or until fork comes out clean. Let cake cool in pan for 10 minutes and then place on cooling rack.

For Glaze: Put all ingredients in a small sauce pan on high until boiling. Stir frequently. Reduce heat and simmer stirring constantly for 2 minutes. Remove from heat & continue stirring for 5 minutes. The glaze will be runny, but  thickens up after a few minutes.

Pour glaze over cake & enjoy!

Everyone in my family loves this cake. In fact, I made it today intending to take a picture of the full cake but it was more than half gone when I got around to it. This has been my most requested cake so far.

Suggestions: I tried this cake with whole wheat flour and it came out really good. It made it a little mealier and denser though. No complaints from anyone here…..the cake was gone in less than a day.

Leave a Reply

