Lazy Cheater

16 Mar

I can’t stress enough how completely I’ve failed at scratch cakes in the past. Miserably failed. It got to the point that my husband would sigh loudly and shy away from the kitchen when he saw me measuring the flour. I can’t blame him really….most of them came out with a cornbread texture. Not good for a cake. One actually came out rubbery, mushy & crunchy at the same time……its a talent:)  I have had some success recently with a few scratch cakes, but haven’t been able to bring myself to try a white cake.

On the other side, I don’t like the taste of cake mixes and find them a bit boring so I went online to see what else there was. I came up with doctored cake mixes(replacing & adding ingredients to a mix). It seemed a good compromise and I gave it a try. I was impressed with the results. By adding extra ingredients to the cake mix, it changed not only the taste and texture but the amount of the mix. I feel a bit like a cheater, but not enough to try a scratch cake  today.

So today, I’m a lazy cheater.I wanted to find something to make that contained blueberries. I recently found out my 18 month old has a fondness for them so I asked my husband to bring a big bag home. I searched online and came up with tons of ideas, but most of them included baking from scratch and since this is lazy Friday that wasn’t going to work for me. I remembered I had a box of pound cake in the cupboard and well, the rest just fell into place. 

 

INGREDIENTS:

1 box pound cake – prepared according to package ( mine called for eggs, butter and milk)

3/4 cup sour cream

1/2 package vanilla pudding

1 tsp vanilla

2 cups blueberries

BLUEBERRY GLAZE

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup water

2 tbsp cornstarch ( i didn’t have any so I used  flour)

1 tbsp lemon juice

2 cups blueberries

Bring to a boil then reduce and simmer for about 10 minutes. I had to keep adding water because I needed mine a little runnier, but this would make a perfect topping for cheesecake.

THE METHOD:

Preheat oven to 350. Grease your pan – I used 2 8″ loaf pans, but a bundt pan would work too. Mix all ingredients  except blueberries in mixer until well blended about 2-3 minutes on medium. Stir in blueberries. Pour batter into pan(s) and bake according to pound cake package. Let cool in pan for 10 minutes and turn on to cooking rack until completely cool. Top with blueberry glaze.

Leave a Reply

