Image

Berry Fruity Cobbler

21 Mar

I have to say I’m loving the dessert section of this cookbook so far. To me, its much more fun baking than it is cooking. Today I wanted to keep it simple ( I know, what a surprise!) but also come up with something that included fruit….since its unseasonable warm here in good old Ohio. I had some strawberries, blueberries and apples so I figured I would throw them all together and make a cobbler.

I looked a few up online and kind of did a combination. I used Splenda instead of sugar and whole wheat flour instead of regular. I have to say that although its pretty good for a sugar free dessert, using regular sugar and flour would have produced better results.

BERRY FRUITY COBBLER

5 apples peeled, cored & sliced                                                                     

15   small strawberries

2 cups blueberries

3/4 cup Splenda ( or sugar)

1 tsp cinnamon

2 cups whole wheat flour (or reg flour)

2 cups Splenda (or sugar)

2 eggs

2 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp salt

1/2 stick butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350. Place apples, blueberries and strawberries in ungreased 9×13 pan ( i used ceramic pie plate). Stir together 3/4 cup Splenda and cinnamon and sprinkle over fruit. Combine the rest of the ingredients, except butter, and stir in a small bowl. Sprinkle mixture over fruit. Top with melted butter. Bake for 45-55 minutes or until apples are tender and cobbler is lightly browned. Serve with whipped cream or ice cream.

Leave a Reply

