My gain is your gain….or your loss.

3 Apr

I’ve decided to work on a new section – the I’ve gained too much weight and have to lose it fast for the summer section. I’m still working on the name. But my gain is your gain – great healthy recipes and maybe some weight loss in the process.

I can’t make all these sugary, floury, fatty desserts and not eat them. I try to stay away and have others give me their reviews, but I have no willpower. So I’m making a decision to start on the healthier part of the cookbook. Well, the fact that I just got a pool and have to shove my ass in a bathing suit decided for me, but you get the point.  I was only going to do desserts, but I’m thinking its going to be a mix of dinners, breads, desserts, etc.

When I say healthy, I don’t mean tasteless and boring. I will not be posting recipes that taste like diet dishes. I also will not only write about boneless skinless chicken breasts….I promise! I will be searching for and making food that is not only healthier for you, but delicious also. I will try to use whole wheat flour, whole grain pasta and other substitutes as much as possible without sacrificing taste. I will still be using regular butter and sugar….just less of it. I’ve decided not to use substitutes for sugar because honestly, most of the time it tastes like ass. Sorry, but true.

Ok, now for my first attempt. I found a basic recipe for banana bread on Food Network and then made my own adjustments.

OATMEAL BANANA BLUEBERRY BREAD  Image

INGREDIENTS:

3/4 cup sugar

4 tbsp butter

2 large eggs

5 ripe bananas

1 tbsp soy milk (if you don’t have soy, 2 % is fine)

1 tsp cinnamon

1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup rolled oats (not cooked)

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1 cup blueberries

THE METHOD:

Preheat oven to 325 and grease a 9″ loaf pan. Cream the butter and sugar in a mixing bowl until light and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time beating well after each. In a small bowl mash the bananas. Add the milk and cinnamon. In another bowl mix the flour, oats, baking soda, baking powder and salt.

Add the banana mixture to the creamed mixture and stir til combined. Add the dry ingredients just until flour disappears. Mix in blueberries.

Pour batter into pan and bake for about 1 hour to 1 hour and 10 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes clean. Cool for 10 minutes in pan, then remove bread from pan and cool completely.

Reviews:

I love this bread. It came out moist and the mix of the blueberries with the bananas is perfect. The whole wheat flour didn’t taste mealy or coarse like it sometimes can.  I will definitely make this bread again. The only thing I would do different is cook it a little longer, probably the full 1 hour 10 minutes. I think these would make good muffins too.

Joey: He chose to have a slice of this bread instead of the banana cream pie in the fridge. When I asked him how he liked it, he said it was fantastic.

Tim:  He said it was good. That’s about all you are going to get from him…haha

Mariah: She had a piece and liked it too and she doesn’t usually like bananas or the texture of banana bread.

Leave a Reply

