A healthy muffin & a new toy.

6 Apr

I don’t know what it is about Spring, but it makes me want to redo my entire house…..paint, clean, reorganize etc. I don’t have that kind of time right now so I settled on the kitchen. I decided Wednesday night that it was finally time to repaint and by Thursday morning I was done. Goodbye ugly green kitchen and hello slightly less ugly blue kitchen. Half a day to paint and clean an entire kitchen, but 6 months to renew my license….but we won’t go there.

I’ve also been busy playing with my new toy – it’s beautiful people! I have a weakness for all things electronicy, gadgety, and of course Apple. For weeks, I tried to convince my husband I NEEDED this, stalked Best Buy for a few days, looked up everything about it online, and of course dreamed about it. It turned out my husband didn’t need much convincing….he may love it more than me. This is definitely going to help get this cookbook done – or so that’s how I’ve justified it to myself.

I figured I would combine my new toy & my muffin….yes, I’m a dork. But isn’t it pretty??

In the midst of my chaos, I threw together some carrot muffins that turned out pretty good. They are perfect for a quick snack and the kids love them for breakfast.

SPICY CARROT MUFFINS (low cal)

INGREDIENTS

3/4 cup sugar

5 tbsp butter

2 large eggs

5 large carrots, peeled and grated

1/4 cup soy milk

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp ground cloves

1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup rolled oats

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

THE METHOD

Preheat oven to 350 and grease muffin tin (or use papers). Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs mixing well after each. Add grated carrots, milk, vanilla,cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. In separate bowl, mix together  flour, baking soda and salt and add to carrot mixture. I like to add a tsp of cayenne pepper to my carrot cakes and breads, but it’s optional. Pour batter into muffin tin and bake for about 30-35 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Cool in pan for 10 minutes and remove.

Reviews:

These are pretty good. Next time I would probably add raisins or nuts and maybe a bit more cinnamon. They were nice and moist.

The kids really liked them and chose the muffin over sugary crap and I guess that’s all you can ask.

Tim tried it hesitantly,he’s not a fan of low fat or healthy food, but he said they were good.

These are definitely going in the cookbook.

2 Responses to “A healthy muffin & a new toy.”

  1. Marlo Ellsworth April 6, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    Love the new color of blue, the new gadget AND the muffin recipe! May have to try the gluten free version of this!!!

    • gelisgoodies April 6, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

      Thanks Marlo! Loving the new toy, but the color is growing on me:) Let me know how the gluten free come out if you try them.

Leave a Reply

