Yay! I did it!

10 Apr

If you read my blog post titled “F$%#!!!” , you will understand my excitement. I had made a cheesecake and it turned out really good (besides the paper towel) but I forgot to write down what I put in it. For Easter, I was trying to come up with a good dessert to make and had settled on carrot cake with cream cheese frosting but I had this nagging feeling I should try another cheesecake. A cheesecake with homemade cherry topping sounded perfect. I’m glad I gave it another shot because despite a few baking mishaps, it turned out better than I thought it would. I will try to be as exact as I can about measurements….I tend to throw things in and see what happens.

Oh and this definitely doesn’t fall in the healthy category…..I took a detour for Easter, but will be back on track soon!

Cheesecake with Homemade Cherry Topping:

 

INGREDIENTS:   

CRUST:

2 cups fined crushed graham cracker crumbs – I put mine in the blender

5 tbsp melted butter

1/3 cup sugar

FILLING

5 packages Philadelphia cream cheese

1 3/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup half and half

1 tsp grated orange peel

1 tsp vanilla

3 tbsp flour

3 eggs

TOPPING:

About 1 1/2 lbs cherries (or blueberries work too) – I used frozen

1 cup sugar

3 tbsp flour

3/4 cup water

Preheat oven to 350

Mix crust ingredients together and press firmly into bottom of 9″ springform pan.

Beat sugar and cream cheese until light and fluffy. Add half and half, orange zest, vanilla and flour scraping bowl and mixing after each ingredient. Add the eggs one by one, making sure to mix well, but don’t over beat!

Pour batter over crust and bake for 1 hour 15 minutes or until cheesecake is a bit wobbly in the center. Run a knife around the edge of the springform pan to loosen the cake. Let cool for a bit then stick in fridge to chill overnight.

While the cheesecake is baking throw your cherries, sugar, flour, and water into a saucepan and bring to a boil stirring occasionally. Reduce heat to low (or 1-2) for about 5 minutes. Let cool completely and pour over cheesecake.

Ok, I had a few oopsies while baking this cheesecake, but it still turned out great. I still need to find the right temperature and method to get a New York high, crack free cheesecake. This one rose a bit high and then fell a little. I’m posting it because it turned out really good despite these flaws. And I tweaked my instructions a little so it hopefully won’t happen to you!

If anyone has any advice on a fail-proof way to bake a cheesecake without it cracking or falling in I’m definitely welcome to suggestions!!

 

Reviews: I will do a general review this time. I set it out for Easter and had all my family over and those who tried it said they loved it – both kids and adults. In fact, I’m pretty sure there were a few who came back for seconds. I really like it. The crust was perfect – not gummy or hard and the topping complimented the “cheesiness” of the cake.

I’m going to keep working on the baking method, but this recipe is a keeper.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

