I don’t need a parade, but I did make my own bread!

16 Apr

I’m going to share a few things about me. Some of these are repetitive for those of you following my blog, but they need to be said again.

1. I am not an experienced cook or baker….I’m basically stumbling through this trying to learn new things.

2. I had no idea you could cook a chicken in a crock pot. I know…duh!

3. I’ve never made bread (actual yeast bread) ever. Never ever. I find it intimidating.

Last week as I was being a bit lazy, I was trying to think what to make for dinner. It was cold, dreary and rainy out so I knew comfort food was a must. I went through my freezer and discovered I had chicken breasts I forgot about and an overabundance of noodles (thanks Sams Club!). Chicken noodle soup it is then. I’ve never made soup before…..I know that sounds ridiculous but I figured it was much easier to buy from the store so what’s the difference? The difference I found out was the taste…..soooo worth it to make you own! I thought it would be much harder, but it turns out you just throw a bunch of crap in a crockpot and let it cook. I just made that sound really appetizing.

Then came the question of what to serve with soup. The most obvious answer was bread, but all I had was sliced bread and that doesn’t make the most winning combination. I remembered I had yeast in the cupboard….I bought it to make sticky buns, but never got around to it. Anyway, I only had a couple hours so  I looked up a quick bread recipe. I found one that looked easy enough and got to work. After a few minutes, it actually looked like dough and I proudly put it in the oven. Too bad I accidentally set it at 450 instead of 400 and didn’t realize until 20 minutes in. It wasn’t burnt, but crunchy it was!

As you can see from the pictures, the loaf came out pretty good, but slicing it was a nightmare. I freaked out after cooking it too high and turned the temp down too low. It looked pretty bad, but was good with butter and as toast. Not quite a disaster because it tasted good, but pretty close! I will try it again making sure I get it right next time.

CROCK POT CHICKEN NOODLE SOUP:

4-5 boneless skinless chicken breasts (or thighs)

5 carrots, sliced into coins

1/2 head cauliflower

1/2 onion, chopped

2 boxes fat free low sodium chicken broth

seasonings: sea salt, pepper, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, oregano. paprika – add at least 1-2 tsps of each, but you can add more to taste

1 large bag noodles – your preference

Place chicken breasts on bottom of crock pot. Add veggies, spices & broth. Cook on low for 5-6 hours. Make sure chicken is cooked all the way through. You can take chicken out & cut into pieces or shred right in crock pot. Cook noodles and add to soup.

EASY PEASY BREAD:

I found recipe on : http://www.food.com/recipe/quick-yeast-bread-8916

  • 5 cups white all-purpose flour        
  • 2 tablespoons yeast (or 2 x 7g pkts)
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups warm-hot water
  • 1/4 cup cooking oil
  1. Put 4 cups of the flour, yeast, sugar and salt into large bowl.
  2. Pour in hot water and oil and mix until combined- it will be sticky.
  3. Add the remaining flour in increments until dough is no longer sticky.
  4. Knead for about 5 minutes until dough is elastic and smooth.
  5. Place dough back into bowl and cover with a damp teatowel and let it rise until double its size- about 1/2 hour.
  6. Punch it down and divide dough into two pieces.
  7. Roll pieces long enough to fill two well oiled loaf pans and leave to rise until dough has reached the rim of the pan.
  8. Bake at 400F for 40 minutes.
  9. Rub hot breads with water and wrap in a teatowel to’sweat’ to soften the crust.
Leave a Reply

