BAKED SEA SALT FRIES

20 Apr

Ok not sure if these are healthy, but they have to be better for you than the deep fried or fast food kind. I’ve been home with a really sick husband and a sick kid here and there and haven’t found much time or energy to find and make homemade creations, but I was craving french fries. Since I’ve been trying to eat much better, Wendy’s was out of the question but I’ve never made my own. I looked up a few recipes and decided it was much easier than I thought so I got to work.

Thanks toΒ 2katjaskitchenΒ I learned you should turn the fries half way through and that helped. Unfortunately I didn’t think to spray the pan with cooking spray and they kind of stuck….not too bad though. But if you guys try your own, make sure you spray whatever you put those fries on with cooking spray.

 

OVEN BAKED SEA SALT FRIES: Β 

POTATOES – I used 6 Russet

BLACK PEPPER

GARLIC SALT

CHILI POWDER

CAYENNE PEPPER

SEA SALT

OLIVE OIL

(I like my fries with a bit of kick – you can pretty much use whatever spices you like)

METHOD:

Preheat oven to 375 (if making right away). You can peel the potatoes(I left skin on) and cut off the ends. Cut about 1/4 inch strips lengthwise and then cut those into strips – whatever thickness you prefer. I read that everything should be the same size so they cook evenly, but I didn’t do that. I know – I’m a rebel. After you have your fries cut, put them in a bowl and cover them with water. Let them soak until you are ready to bake them. I’m sure they would be fine without soaking, but I didn’t need to make them for a few hours. Dry with paper towel.

In a container, put all your spices except sea salt (I just eyeballed the amounts) and throw fries in. Make sure the lid is on tight and shake.

Cover a baking sheet with tinfoil and spray with cooking spray. Arrange season fries and brush with olive oil. Bake for 30 minutes turning halfway through. I needed to bake mine for a bit longer because they were thicker so make sure you check on them. After they are done sprinkle with desired amount of sea salt. YUMMY!

 

5 Responses to “BAKED SEA SALT FRIES”

  1. 2katjaskitchen April 20, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    Well if you’re a reble, so am I πŸ™‚ I don’t have time to worry/think if they’re all exactly the same. I try to come close, but there are those stragglers. I love how you used cayanne and garlic in this! sounds yummy!

    • gelisgoodies April 20, 2012 at 9:40 am #

      Haha…that’s a good idea for a cooking show – The Rebel Bakers πŸ™‚ I love cayenne….i even use it in some cakes – gives it a nice kick.

      • 2katjaskitchen April 20, 2012 at 9:49 am #

        Me too! I was inspired by Mexican hot chocolate to do that – Love that flavor πŸ™‚ Great minds obviously think alike!

  2. Denise April 20, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

    The water just keeps the spuds from turning funky colors, those look great! I could go for a tray of those right now!

    • gelisgoodies April 20, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

      Thanks! They are really good, but I have to stop making them everyday. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

