Black Bean Cake w/ Salted Chocolate Frosting

4 May

Well its Friday and I’m bored! Its all rainy and yucky here which always puts me in a baking mood. I’m really trying to be healthier so I didn’t want to make anything that would set me back a few weeks. I remembered something on Pinterest about a flour-free black bean cake. It sounds really gross, but the best things usually do. I looked it up, made it , threw it in the oven and now I’m just waiting for it to be done. I’m a little scared to try it, but what the hell I’m feeling adventurous today.

When I told my husband I was making a black bean cake his first reaction was “That’s disgusting”…then “um, I guess it’s good it will have a lot of protein”. I’m making him try it….first.

I didn’t have vanilla (me not have something? I know surprise!) so I used a tsp of Kahlua. Preheat oven to 325.

Black Bean Cake – Gluten Free

INGREDIENTS:                            

1 can black beans, drained

4 eggs

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla

Put these ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until liquified.

6 tbsp butter, softened

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

6 tbsp cocoa powder

Add these ingredients to mixture and blend for about 2 minutes or completely incorporated.

Don’t worry if your batter is very runny….it’s supposed to be that way.

Pour into 9″ greased cake pan or bundt pan. Bake for 30 -40 minutes. Cool completely, remove from pan and frost with your favorite icing.

ICING:

I used the last of my cocoa powder in the cake so I had to think of something else to make the frosting with.

HERSHEY’S SYRUP FROSTING

Amounts are approximate – you may have to adjust to taste.

1/2 cup butter

2 cups powdered sugar

1/4 cup Hershey’s syrup

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

1/4 tsp sea salt

Put all ingredients in bowl and beat on medium until blended. Frost cooled cake

Reviews:

My husband: he just can’t get over the fact there are black beans in it. I gave him a piece, he took a bite, made a face and handed the plate back to me. When I made him admit it was all in his head he finished the cake. He said it was ok, but wasn’t crazy about the texture. He keeps coming back in the kitchen to take bites though.

Me: I thought it was pretty good….very moist and full of flavor. I may use a different frosting with it next time….something a little less sweet, but I would make this again.

One Response to “Black Bean Cake w/ Salted Chocolate Frosting”

  1. Glen March 4, 2015 at 11:02 pm #

    love it!! my first time making a black beans cake, this recipe is pretty simple and good!

Leave a Reply

