My first attempt at homemade ice cream

15 May


I saw this ice cream maker in the store and it instantly conjured up images of churning my own delicious, unique flavors of ice cream. I can never find the exact flavor of ice cream that I want in the store and I thought this would be the answer. So I bought it, brought it home, read the instructions, decided it was way too much work and it sat for at least a week unused. Its not that I’m afraid of a little hard work, but it just seemed so ridiculous when I could run up the street and buy some at the store for $3.oo. It would be even more ridiculous to not even give it a try so I searched for recipes and found a chocolate one. I of course didn’t read the whole recipe before starting and didn’t realize it needed to chill overnight before making so in total this ice cream took me a day to make.

In my opinion the recipe is fussy(which you know I hate!) and took way too long. The end result was pretty good, but I’m on the search for something that doesn’t have to be chilled overnight. When you want ice cream you want it now!!

I found this recipe on the whatscookingamerica website.

Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe

INGREDIENTS:

4 egg yolks
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 cup milk
1 cup heavy cream
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
Crushed Ice
Rock salt

METHOD:

In a medium-size bowl, add the egg yolks, sugar and cocoa powder; beat until thick and set aside.

In a small heavy saucepan over low to medium-low heat, add milk. Slowly bring milk just to a gentle simmer or until it begins to bubble around the edges. Remove from heat.

Gradually stir hot milk into beaten egg/sugar mixture with a wire whisk. Pour mixture back into the saucepan. Over low heat, stirring constantly, heat until the mixture (custard) thickens and will coat the back of a metal spoon with a thin film, approximately 7 to 10 minutes. On your instant-read cooking thermometer, the temperature should reach between 165 and 180 degrees F. This process is known as tempering.

Remove from heat and let custard cool. Cover and refrigerate until thoroughly chilled, at least 1 hour or until it reaches 65 degrees F. on your thermometer.This is the custard base. This custard base can be used in many other ice cream recipes where you want a rich, creamy ice cream. Place mixture back in the refrigerator for at least 4 hour, but ideally for 24 hours. This aging process will give the mixture better whipping qualities and produce ice cream with more body and a smoother texture.

When the custard base is cold, stir in the heavy cream and vanilla extract. Stir or whisk just until mixture is well combined. If you want to add any extra additions (fresh or dried fruit, candies or confections, nuts, or alcohol), now is the time (see below for directions). The ice cream is now ready for the freezing process.

Transfer the mixture into your ice cream maker and freeze according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Either churn your ice cream by hand or by motor. 

2 Responses to “My first attempt at homemade ice cream”

  1. TheSuburbanSoapbox May 15, 2012 at 10:36 am #

    Yay! So glad you didn’t return it! Here’s a tip to save you time when you make another batch, instead of chilling overnight…..fill a big bowl with ice and water, place the smaller bowl with the mixture inside the big bowl and let it sit for about 30 minutes. I never chill overnight even though the recipe calls for it. Your freezer can should be cold enough to freeze as long as the mixture is not warm.

    • gelisgoodies May 15, 2012 at 10:42 am #

      I saw something about chilling in a bowl of ice water in the original recipe, but it was confusing so for the first time I thought I would follow the recipe exactly. Next time I will try that …thank you! Im definitely keeping the ice cream maker – I just need to find recipes that work for me:)

Leave a Reply

