I’m declaring this Ice Cream Week

16 May

I’m starting to have fun with my ice cream maker and have used it a couple more times since I posted (yesterday) that I figured I would just continue the theme this week. I highly suggest getting one and trying out your own recipes!

I’m definitely open to suggestions for a flavor you want me to try this week…here are a few I was thinking of – feel free to add any:

Blackberry with dark chocolate chunks

Rocky Road

Cherry Cheesecake

Cafe Mocha w/Almonds

Chocolate Swirl Pecan

Cinnamon Apple Pie

I didn’t forget you my fellow weight-conscious readers. Yesterday I made a chocolate banana almond milk ice cream that has about 60-75 calories per serving. It actually turned out pretty good ….the texture is more frozen yogurt than creamy ice cream. Next time I will add almonds or pecans because I like a little crunch in my ice cream. It totally works when you are craving something chocolatey and sweet and won’t set you back for the day. Plus it is low fat, low calorie, vegan, and I believe gluten free – can’t get better than that.I found this recipe on Bay Area Bites website.

CHOCOLATE BANANA ALMOND MILK ICE CREAM

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups almond milk
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 2 heaping tablespoons chocolate cocoa powder
  • 2 Tbsp sugar

Instructions

  1. In a microwaveable bowl or cup whisk 1/2 cup almond milk with the chocolate cocoa and sugar until fully incorporated. Microwave for 40 seconds and then stir.
  2. Place bananas plus the remainder of the almond milk into a blender along with the cocoa mixture and puree for about 10 seconds.
  3. Place mixture in the ice cream maker and process for 20 minutes or until thick.
  4. Serve right away or store in the freezer for later use or to firm up a bit more if desired.
2 Responses to “I’m declaring this Ice Cream Week”

  1. 2katjaskitchen May 16, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

    I am so jealous! I have been wanting an ice cream maker for a while. I wish there was a good way to make ice cream without one. The only other way I know how is using two people and two coffee cans 🙂 Thank you Girl Scouts! This looks fantastic!

    • gelisgoodies May 16, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

      I want to say that I saw something about making ice cream in a bag & maybe making it in a dish and putting it in the fridge. If there is a way, Pinterest will have it…lol I’ve also seen some pretty inexpensive makers at Target – I tried to justify my buying one, but I don’t think I will ever make my money back 🙂

Leave a Reply

