South Beach recipes

22 May

I’ve been pretty sporadic lately with my posts and I don’t try out recipes nearly as often as I like, but I’m going to make a better effort. I’m on day 4 of the South Beach Diet(which I’m loving) so I will probably be posting some phase 1 recipes soon. I’ve been eating the same thing every day and it will probably get boring soon. And we all know what happens when your diet gets boring….or at least what happens to me. I’m going to try to avoid eating every carb known to man in one sitting by finding and trying a variety of foods.

I will definitely be adding a section in the cookbook for my favorite SB recipes because even if you aren’t following the diet, more veggies, protein and fiber in your life probably can’t hurt.

I was happy to see that I can still have something sweet – I just need to be more creative with it. Right now I’m craving a chocolate milkshake so I have a feeling my next post will be some sort of phase 1 modified yummy treat.

I’m thinking this week at some point I will try a veggie pizza with cauliflower crust – it could either be delicious or a total train wreck!

Feel free to share your favorite SB recipes!

3 Responses to “South Beach recipes”

  1. terriskitchenuk May 23, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    Hey I see you’re doing SB. I am a huge fan of SBD and will admit that it’s a great diet…excuse me…food plan! 😉 Once you get into the hang of it, it’s easy. Just follow the food list and use the sample menus if need be so you don’t get bored. The two weeks go pretty quick but the first few days are the tough ones when you’re trying to lose the cravings. I know you’re supposed to avoid all dairy in phase 1, but I still had it anyway and I lost weight. I just didn’t go crazy and overdo it. (I have to have milk in my coffee and tea) I’m not telling you to cheat, but that’s up to you. As far as the milkshake goes, if you want to cheat and use dairy try using skimmed milk with some tofu or fat free yogurt, cocoa powder (unsweetened), ice cubes, a bit of vanilla and artificial sweetener in a blender.
    Good Luck!

    • gelisgoodies May 23, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

      Phase one is definitely challenging but not as bad as I thought it would be. They updated it awhile ago and now thankfully you can have 2 servings of skim or low fat milk and yogurt. In fact I think they encourage it. I tried a modified chocolate milkshake and really liked it – I found a recipe last night and it looks like yours except I used ricotta instead of yogurt and unsweetened almond milk instead of skim – yummy! Thanks for your encouragement!

      • terriskitchenuk May 24, 2012 at 11:49 am #

        It’s been so long since I did Phase 1. I have the original book and then a couple of years ago I found the Supercharged at a bookstore and the orange cover cookbook at a charity shop! I was looking at the original book when I replied to you and should have looked at the newer book! Every now and then I post recipes that are SBD friendly so keep an eye!

Leave a Reply

