Chocolate Ricotta Milkshake – SB Phase 1

24 May

I need chocolate…..I don’t just want it, I need it. Any time I’ve ever tried a new way of eating or a diet, the first thing I’ve done is make sure I can have chocolate in one form or another. I know, its a sickness.

As you know, I started South Beach this week and I was very happy to see that I could still have chocolate – kind of. I can have unsweetened cocoa powder and a sugar substitute – that’s the same right?

I was craving a chocolate milkshake the other night and found a few recipes that I could use on phase one. I found a few and sort of made a mixture….this is what I ended up with:

Chocolate Ricotta Milkshake (phase 1)

2 cups skim or low fat milk(I used almond)

1/4 cup part skim Ricotta cheese

2-3 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

3-4 tsp Stevia or Splenda

1 tsp vanilla extract

ice

Put all ingredients in blender and blend until desired consistency.

I topped it with whipped topping ( no sugar) and I’m not sure if its allowed on this phase, but I wanted it so there it is.

Sorry about the picture, but it was torture trying to get a good pic and I gave up and pigged the whole thing down.

I thought it was pretty good – it made enough for more than one milkshake – not that anyone else in my house would try it. And trust me – you can’t taste the ricotta….it just gives it a thicker consistency. This definitely works when you have a craving for chocolate. I won’t say that it replaces a milkshake…. it kind of turned out like really cold chocolate milk, but hey who’s complaining?

2 Responses to “Chocolate Ricotta Milkshake – SB Phase 1”

  1. marshaxxx3 September 12, 2015 at 6:20 pm #

    this was very good. I did tweak it a little. very delish!! ty

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Try It Tuesday | The Huffman Post - July 7, 2015

    […] When I was doing the low carb thing, I searched and searched for recipes for things that would taste good and not be just another cheese stick. I had some ricotta cheese leftover from my mini lasagna Try It and wondered if there was something I could use that in. I searched Pinterest and found this: […]

Leave a Reply

