I’m cleaning my tub – anyone want to watch?? – update

31 Jul

Although I’m not making any recipes right now, I’m going to pretend at being domestic this week – and where else do I learn how to do this? Pinterest of course!! Every day I’m going to try out 1 or 2 pins and report back here to share if they worked or not. Now, I’m usually one of those people that can never get these “magic” remedies to work so believe me when I say if it works for me it will work for you.

Today I’m trying out some homemade cleaner because I really really need to clean my house…not just dishes & vacuum, but deep clean. I hate cleaning! The first thing I need to do is figure out how to get that big area by the drain in my bathtub clean. I’ve tried everything from  bleach to Comet to baking soda scrub to just plain old scrubbing  and nothing makes a difference.

I’ve found several pins that swear that a mix of 1 part Dawn Original dish soap and 2 parts vinegar  in a spray bottle is the answer. I’m skeptical, but its worth a try.

And of course its not really fun unless I post the before and afters……here is the before pics of my tub – I know, I know people – its not pretty! But in my defense, thats after scrubbing it “clean”.  I’ve sprayed down the whole tub/shower and I’m going to wait a few hours and then try rinsing it – I will report back with the results.

UPDATE

Ok….its been a few hours and while I didn’t have any great expectations I have to say I was disappointed with this one – the “after” was after I rinsed and scrubbed and almost no difference…..other than making my house smell like vinegar. I will keep searching. If anyone has a good home cleaner that would remove this stuff feel free to share with me and I’ll try it out!

I do have to say that even though this didn’t work for my tub, its a great cleaner for stainless steel, stove tops, tables, cupboards, etc. – so it wasn’t a total waste of time.

Sorry about the pics…my good camera needs charged so I took these with my crappy phone camera.

This is the before: Cue horror movie music         

This is the after:(

 

Leave a Reply

