2nd Birthday Party!

27 Aug

 My daughter’s 2nd birthday is coming up and since her party is this Saturday, my head feels like it will explode with all the jumbled ideas. My problem is that I need to learn to focus…..I’m always coming up with tons of ideas and trying to do them all. It always ends with me going insane and being completely overwhelmed. I thought maybe if I write down my thoughts, it will help me to form a plan.

The present: Fortunately this is all done….I just finished shopping for it yesterday and now all I have to do is put it all together. It incorporates her love of Dora, superheroes, jewelry and pretend play. I would tell you what it is, but whats the fun in that…..I guess you will have to read my posts this week to see a picture of the completed gift.

The food: I have 3 kids so over the years I’ve done many different things for parties from pizza to a taco station to a cookout. I’m not quite sure what I’m doing yet…..I’m thinking of making a big pan of rigatoni, loaves of french bread, veggie & fruit tray and of course a cake. 

The cake: This is where my thoughts usually jumble. I used to decorate cakes and sell them a few years back….I haven’t done it for quite awhile, but I recently started making cakes for the kids again. I used to make stand up barbie cakes for my oldest daughter(who’s now 14)….I had so much fun with them and they always went over so well. My youngest loves Dora so I thought I would make a stand up Dora cake. Finding a Dora doll that fits into a cake was a challenge but I ordered one from Amazon and I’m hoping it fits. I can’t find my Wilton pan for the skirt anywhere so I may have to bake it in a mixing bowl.Again, I will make sure to post a picture.

I wish I could stop at the cake but I just can’t.I feel like it needs cookies or cupcakes with it. This is usually the point where I veer off course and end up a crazy person. She loves Elmo and Cookie Monster so I was thinking of making their “furry” faces on cupcakes. Yes I know its mixing themes, but I’ve never been much of a matchy matchy person anyway. 

I don’t have to worry about party favors, treat bags etc because our parties are usually just family and friends. I will worry about that stuff in a few years. 

Decorations: I usually don’t go crazy in this area…..I might put up a few banners, maybe some balloons, different colored plates, napkins and will probably use the cake as a centerpiece

If you guys are like me and on a budget, I try to keep the party (food, decorations, cake) under $100.00. This may seem high or low depending on how you look at it and what area you are in, but things add up quickly. I will write another post showing what I used for the cake, the food, and decorations and the cost for it all. I’m open to any suggestions and tips and I’m hoping this will help others plan their party.

Make sure to check back in for pics of the cake, food and presents!

2 Responses to “2nd Birthday Party!”

  1. Terri at Time To Be Inspired August 27, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    Just remember that for a 2nd birthday – it is all good. Your daughter won’t care about all the little details, but make sure to photograph everything to show her when she is old enough to appreciate it! Have fun and don’t go crazy! (I have 4 adult children and I still remember the insanity I could create.)

    • gelisgoodies August 28, 2012 at 7:13 am #

      I truly believe the insanity is half the fun 🙂 I’ve actually scaled way back from what I used to do…..probably because I don’t have as much energy as I used to…haha Thanks!

Leave a Reply

