Wish me luck

31 Aug

Against better advice, actually best advice from the most talented baker/decorator I know, I’m baking the cake in the KA mixing bowl – no heating core or fancy gadgets. Mainly because I don’t have any. Her advice was reasonable, experienced and made a ton of sense, but because I’m me , I will do it anyway.  I did listen to one piece of her advice though – I didn’t fill the bowl all the way. See Tonia, I can follow directions.

I will be back in about an hour and a half to brag about my brilliance or laugh at the wreckage.

I will attempt to put this:

Into a cake baked in this:

 

UPDATE: I’m calling this one a victory!! I may have even done a victory dance….don’t worry, I won’t show you.

I baked this at 325 for 1hour & 40 minutes…you can tell where its darker on bottom, but considering what could have gone wrong, I’m happy so far.

Because I only filled the bowl a bit more than half way (which I recommend), its a bit smaller than I wanted so I’m baking a round cake to put

underneath it.

Ta da!

3 Responses to “Wish me luck”

  1. Terri at Time To Be Inspired August 31, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    I think this sounds like a fabulous alternative to the “proper” pan. Can’t wait to see the results!

    • gelisgoodies August 31, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

      Thanks Terri! So far so good….I will post pics when the whole cake is done.

      • Terri at Time To Be Inspired August 31, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

        I have a shaped Barbie pan – where she is wearing a ball gown (of course) and I had fun giving her wonderful dresses to wear. The face, bodice and arms are a plastic piece you set into the icing so I never had to worry about those details. I liked doing those cakes a lot more than Super Mario or Ninja Turtles (SO much strong colored icing required!) Only wish I’d take pictures of all of them…

Leave a Reply

