I made 167 oz of Pumpkin Spice body wash for around $1.90!!!

8 Sep

Its finally done! It has taken me the last 2 days of playing around with it, but the pumpkin body wash is finally done!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I didn’t expect it to make so much so I had to find some empty bottles to put it in.

 

 

 

Here’s what I used – If you are someone who needs exact measurements don’t read any further because I don’t use them!

3 bars Ivory Soap

Huge ass amounts of water

About 20 drops pumpkin essential oil

About 10 drops vanilla essential oil

 

Boil about 2 gallons of water…..I used a big stock pot. Reduce heat to medium for about 10 minutes. Grate bars of soap and add into hot water and STIR STIR STIR!!! I can’t stress enough how much you need to stir. Its going to be really really watery – don’t panic, its supposed to look like that. After every bit of soap is dissolved and mixed in, remove from heat. Let cool and pour into containers to cool. I used mason jars. After mixture is cooled, you can add whatever scented essential oil you like and mix it in. I thought pumpkin & vanilla would be good since we are getting into fall.

I’ve never even heard of essential oils before, but apparently you can do so much with them. I found mine at my local craft store for about $4 a bottle.

Let body wash cool in containers overnight. By morning, your body wash should be ready!

 

Now for my tips – I’m only giving tips because I had the worst time with the original recipe I found online. Every soap is different and the amount of water you need varies greatly!

For example the recipe I found was for Dove soap (I used Ivory since it was on sale for $.30/bar) . It was 3 bars grated soap & 6 cups water. This resulted in containers of hard smooshy glop. I then poured all the mixture back into the stock pot, put on medium heat and added a ton more water. You didn’t believe me when I said I didn’t measure did you? I stirred it up and then let it sit overnight again. It was better but had a “snotty” consistency. I poured some of it into my mixing bowl and ran it under the beaters for a few minutes. This helped get it all mixed up and a better consistency. Its a little foamy, but settling down.

So, if your mixture is too thick, add small amounts of hot water to it at a time to get it to a good consistency.

If the mixture is too thin, warm it up and add more grated soap.

 

I know some of you are sitting there asking yourselves if its really worth it to go through all this for body wash? For me, absolutely! I have a family of 5 and we are a 1 income household so anywhere I can save money I will.

 

This cost me under $2.00  to make 167 oz of body wash. I pay $8.98 for 70 oz at the store.  To me, that kind of savings is worth it!

 

I’m still trying to get my Irish Spring batch the right consistency, but once that’s done I won’t have to buy body wash for my family for a really long time!

 

2 Responses to “I made 167 oz of Pumpkin Spice body wash for around $1.90!!!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The cheapest, easiest fabric cleaner ever! « Geli's Goodies - September 9, 2012

    […] daughter and my sister who are just as picky as I am and they love it! This motivated me to try body wash and since that was another success, I may have gone a little crazy mixing stuff up […]

  2. Finding my own way… « Geli's Goodies - September 17, 2012

    […] probably should have an in between category because that is where I would put my body wash…..I didn’t come back and update on it after I used it a few times, but I’m on the […]

Leave a Reply

