Boredom + Cake Mix = Snickerdoodle Cookies!

17 Sep

I’m bored and that is never good……never. Trying to cure my boredom usually ends up with a huge mess and weird concoctions. I’m not sure why I bake when I’m restless and bored but I do ……and its usually something I’ve never tried before. And its not like I don’t have anything to do because I really do, but making a big mess and making something funky just sounds better than cleaning and paying bills.  So, tonight I had a cake mix but no frosting and of course ran a search to see what I could come up with. I’ve tried the cake mix + can of pop before and it came out pretty good so these cake mix snickerdoodles I found have to be yummy! I’m not a big fan of making regular snickerdoodles…..they are the Goldilocks of my cookies – either too mushy, too crunchy or too chewy. But these looked so easy and delicious that I had to give them a try.

Cake Mix Snickerdoodle Cookies

Preheat oven to 350. Mix together 1 white cake mix (I used yellow), 1/2 cup melted butter and 1 egg until it forms kind of a dough. Combine 2 tbsp sugar and 1 tsp ground cinnamon in a bowl. Form a ball with the mix, roll in sugar mixture and bake on ungreased baking sheet for 10-12 minutes.

I have to say that to me they were just ok, but everyone else is loving them. In fact, I barely got a picture before they took them all! Very fast and easy cookies to make…..its a fun thing to do with the kiddies.

The “dough”

Heading into oven….

Straight to the coffee….yum!

Leave a comment