Bad Ass Brownies

21 Sep

These brownies kick all my other brownies asses.

I was really uninspired today and when I was looking through some of the brownie recipes I had, I decided to play. I love adding cayenne pepper to cookies, brownies, cakes, etc. That combined with the cinnamon gives it a nice kick and keeps it from being that same old been-there-done-that brownie.

These are really good….spicy, fudgy and thick. They might not be for the kids, but would be perfect for the holidays or Superbowl parties or sneaking into a closet and eating by yourself.

Do yourself a favor and make these now.

Caliente Cayenne Brownie

3/4 cup cocoa

2 cups sugar

1 1/4 cups flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp sea salt

4 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

1 cup vegetable oil

4 eggs, slightly beaten

1 tsp vanilla

1 bag semi sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350. Mix all dry ingredients together and then add the oil, eggs and vanilla. Stir in the chocolate chips. I made mine in a 8×8 because I wanted them to be thick, but they took about 50 minutes to bake and the edges are a bit dark. This would probably work with a 13×9…..start off at 30 minutes and check. Brownies are done when whatever you stick in them comes clean:) I love the thickness of my brownies so I may try cooking them at 325 for longer.

I do not fuss with sifting dry ingredients or adding them in bowl separate….and you don’t need a mixer of any kind for these. Just stir them by hand until they are well blended.

UPDATE: We went through the first batch so fast, I had to make them again. This time I baked them at 325 in my 8×8 pan for about 50 minutes and they came out perfect! I put tin foil around the edges for the last 15 minutes to avoid burning. My family is going crazy for these brownies. My teenage daughter took a bite and called them beautiful. My husband keeps telling me how great these are and sneaking back for more. I really need to stop eating these! But how good would they taste with a cup of hot coffee in the morning……I may have to put Jenny Craig on my speed dial.

Ok update to the update……the younger kids really wanted to try these so I gave them one today. I figured they would taste too different or too spicy, but I got raving reviews on them. These are officially my go-to brownies and will definitely make it to the cookbook.

I chose this post to be featured on One Good Thing By Jillee

<code

One Response to “Bad Ass Brownies”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. SHREK SMOOTHIE « Geli's Goodies - September 27, 2012

    […] carrot cake with my coffee this morning……or a brownie. Oh yes, a nice warm chocolatey brownie dipped in coffee. Then I realized that I might have to write a weight loss book after this cookbook […]

Leave a Reply

