Braided Spaghetti Bread

25 Sep

When I was a kid  whenever I would eat spaghetti I would pile it on my bread and eat it like a sandwich. So delicious! As I was looking through Pinterest, I found a recipe that bakes spaghetti into the bread and I knew I had to try this.

Now, there is an easy way and then there is my way to do this. The original recipe I followed uses ready made bread dough and sauce in a jar.  I had already made sauce and froze it as part of my budget dinner plan so I used that. I didn’t have any ready made dough and figured it couldn’t be that hard to make my own….sometimes I wish I could go back and smack myself.

Its not that making bread is horribly difficult, but I had a hard time getting it to rise the right way. If you are used to making your own bread, this won’t be a problem for you.

Anyway, this is my attempt at braided spaghetti bread. It was really good…..In fact, I almost didn’t get a picture of it sliced because my husband kept going back for more. I will hopefully get the “recipe” posted for my spaghetti sauce by tomorrow ….its definitely worth the effort to make it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BRAIDED SPAGHETTI BREAD

Loaf of Bread Dough

About 1/2 box of spaghetti

Jar of Sauce

Mozzarella Cheese

Egg

Parsley

Parmesan Cheese

I recommend that you go here (with step by step pics)if you want to see how to do this the easier way. Just a few tips….I’m sure she probably mentions these too:

1. I found it easier to mix the sauce and spaghetti together before putting it on the dough. Make sure you add plenty of sauce….you don’t want it drying out in the oven. My spaghetti was a bit too warm though and it made the dough a bit soggy…..so I would let it cool a bit before putting it on the dough.

2. I almost had a disaster because I rolled the dough onto my cutting board and then assembled the spaghetti bread and tried to move it…..big mistake. Big, big mistake. It took me, my husband, a cookie sheet and spatula to get it onto the pan. A few pieces were harmed in the process. I highly suggest you roll the dough onto parchment paper, assemble and then lift the bread with the paper to get on to the pan.

3. This was really fun to make and came out good despite my mistakes, so don’t try to be perfect with it.

Leave a Reply

