Carrot Apple Upside Down Cake

26 Sep

Yes I just made that up. Yes its a real thing.

I’ve neglected working on the cookbook the last few months, but I was looking through it today and found a great recipe for zucchini bread. Then I had this great idea that I would turn it into zucchini bundt cake.  It would have helped tremendously if I had bought zucchinis instead of cucumbers. They look the same right? Don’t judge me.

I already had it in my head that I was making a bundt cake and wasn’t going to let the fact that I didn’t have the main ingredient stop me. I looked in the fridge and almost considered cucumber cake, but wasn’t feeling that adventurous. I did however see granny smith apples and some baby carrots. Perfect.

I’ve been dying to try out the Ninja Pulse my dad just got me. That thing is amazing! It grated up my carrots and apples in like 10 seconds. I may never use a hand grater again.

CAKE

2 Cups Sugar

3 eggs

1 cup oil

1 tbsp vanilla

4 granny smith apples, chopped or blended

15 baby carrots, grated

3 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 apple, sliced for top of cake

1 tbsp butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350. Blend sugar and eggs. Add oil, vanilla, carrots and apples. Add in dry ingredients and blend until well mixed. Pour into greased bundt pan. Place sliced apples on top of batter, sprinkle with melted butter and cinnamon. Bake for 40-45 minutes or until fork comes out clean.

I didn’t have any powdered sugar for a glaze so I just poured some granulated sugar in small saucepan, added water and heated on medium until it simmered. Let cool for a few minutes and drizzle on cake.

Yummy yummy in my tummy! This turned out really well and would taste great as a muffin or quick bread.

One Response to “Carrot Apple Upside Down Cake”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. SHREK SMOOTHIE « Geli's Goodies - September 27, 2012

    […] woke up this morning and thought how good it would be to have a piece of the apple carrot cake with my coffee this morning……or a brownie. Oh yes, a nice warm chocolatey brownie dipped […]

Leave a Reply

