The Best Turkey Chili!

8 Oct

I love the chilly weather….not freezing cold, right around 40 degrees is perfect. Yesterday was cold and even though everyone else was complaining, I opened the kitchen window and got to work. I love cooking when a nice breeze is blowing through the kitchen. It really feels like fall when there is football on the TV and a nice big pot of chili on the stove. I also made a pumpkin pie from an actual pumpkin!, but that’s for another post:)

This may have been one of my best batches of chili yet. I’m not sure why, maybe I got the blend of spices right or used the right ratio of ingredients, but it was good!

You can make this chili vegetarian by using veggie crumbles instead of the turkey or if you are an avid meat-eater, ground beef can be substituted. I’ve tried it both ways and its always come out delicious!

You guys know that I hate using exact recipes, so I’m going to try my best to recreate the “recipe” for you. I used ground turkey instead of beef this time and my husband loved it.

Chili is the perfect dish to play with so have fun with it!

 

 

 

 

Turkey Chili

2 lbs ground turkey

1 onion, chopped

4 cans chili beans

2 cans kidney beans

1 can black beans

2 small (6 oz) cans tomato paste

2 cans diced tomatoes

chili powder

cayenne pepper

garlic powder

cumin

salt

black pepper

Method:

In a skillet, saute onion and ground turkey. Add some garlic powder, pepper and salt. While the meat is cooking, grab a large pot and add beans, paste, and tomatoes. I didn’t drain any of the cans….just pour them all in. Cook on medium low.  When the meat mixture is done, add it to beans. Again, I didn’t drain mine – I just poured it all in the pan. Mix everything up and add spices. I cooked my chili on medium low (3-4) for hours and when it was done, turned it down to low(1).

I didn’t put amounts for spices because I kept adding them until it tasted the way I wanted. I will say that I used A LOT  of chili pepper and a good amount of cumin. I always question when I see chili recipes that call for 1 tbsp of chili powder……I had to have used at least 5 times that much! My advice is to add the spices, stir and then every 30 minutes or so stir it up, taste it and add more. Keep doing this until the chili tastes the way you want.

The cheese on top was just for the picture….my husband said it was so good he didn’t need cheese or anything else to go with it.

 

Leave a Reply

