Getting rid of the funk….

7 Nov

Yep I said funk. This morning I noticed my house smelled weird…..probably a combination of cooking smells and dog. Yum! I saw a trick on Pinterest where you put a couple capfuls of vanilla into a mug and put in the oven at 300 for an hour. Its supposed to make your house smell really good. It did but it wasn’t really strong enough to get all the rooms on the downstairs and plus I burnt my hand taking it out of the oven. I’m just talented like that.

I then went on a search to find something I could put in a saucepan on the stove….I figured something simmering all day would work better. I came up with a whole bunch of recipes but I didn’t have the ingredients for most of them. So I just made up my own. I filled the saucepan with water first and brought it to a boil. I then just started throwing crap in….ground cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and vanilla extract. It smelled delicious immediately! I let it boil for another 2-3 minutes and then turned it down to medium low and let simmer. The whole house smells so good!

This is way more effective than candles or air freshener and cheaper too. Just make sure you keep checking on it every hour or so and adding water so the pan doesn’t get dry. And of course don’t leave the house with this on.

My husband came home for lunch and was telling me how great it smelled in here….but it made him hungry πŸ™‚

2 Responses to “Getting rid of the funk….”

  1. Bernice November 8, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

    What a creative idea! I love the aromas of spices – though it would make me hungry too. πŸ™‚

    • gelisgoodies November 8, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

      It smells like the spicy brownies I make….in fact my daughter came home from school and was excited because she thought I made some. oops! It definitely makes the house smell delicious!

Leave a Reply

