Our Christmas Tree

27 Nov

Since I lasted posted, I went to Colorado and back, had Thanksgiving, participated in Black Friday(I’m so ashamed :)) and now I’m trying to get back into my routine.  At some point I will post some pictures from my trip and maybe some recipes from Thanksgiving, but I feel like I need to move on and go right to my favorite time of year – Christmas!!

Sunday we took the family to a tree farm and cut our own tree. This is the first time in 11 years that we’ve had a real one. The tree we usually put up is really pretty and I like it, but for some reason I felt like I needed to start a new tradition. So we loaded the kids up and headed out to find the perfect one. I probably heard “I’m cold!” 50 times from my 8 year old, but my teenager and toddler were pretty good sports. The kids were bored and tired of looking after 5 minutes so it was awesome when my brother & sister in law showed up with their kids and they all went off to play.

Finding a tree was harder than I thought it would be…..I couldn’t judge the size right and kept picking these monsters that would never fit in our house. We finally found one, cut it down, strapped it to the truck and brought it into the house. My husband kept referencing the one scene in  National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation where Clark unties the rope from the tree and I had to laugh because thats what it felt like when we tried to put our tree up. It is huge! I swear it didn’t look that big at the farm! At one point the tree kept falling and almost took a dive right into the TV. But its up and its huge and its soooo pretty!

My 8 year old son did most of the decorating(like usual)….he always does such an amazing job. The only thing I want to add is a popcorn & cranberry garland. I feel like its going to be a pain in the ass and a lot of work but I haven’t made one in years and the kids are on board with helping. At least for a few minutes until they prick their finger with the needle or realize its not that exciting and I will probably be back on here in a day or two complaining and asking why you guys let me do it. But thats half the fun!

 

 

The first pic is the tree I originally wanted…lol! I swear I thought it would fit. And the second is what we ended up with. I will post a picture after its all done.

4 Responses to “Our Christmas Tree”

  1. Bernice November 27, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    What a beautiful tree and you son did a fabulous job! We love that movie Christmas Vacation. It is so very true in so many ways. I never get tired of it. Again, great job on the tree! Very impressed you went out to a tree farm to pick it out!

    • gelisgoodies November 30, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

      Thanks Bernice! I’m definitely going to the tree farm from now on …..inexpensive and room smells so good:)

  2. Terri at Time To Be Inspired November 30, 2012 at 2:09 am #

    It really is amazing how small the trees look out in the country. There should be markers around the lots that mark 8′ and 9′ heights so you have something to compare to! Your tree looks great.

    • gelisgoodies November 30, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

      Thanks Terri! I’m just glad my husband has a good sense if height because if it were up to me to pick one out, it wouldn’t fit through the door ..haha

Leave a Reply

