Some cranberries, some paint, and a lot of cursing.

3 Dec

It took me a couple days but I finally finished the popcorn & cranberry garland for the tree. I have to say that I really love it and I guess it was worth bleeding fingers and hand cramps. I put it on the tree and it was exactly what was missing. It lasted exactly two days before the stupid dog decided that she would eat the popcorn off the strand and leave the cranberries….how nice of her. At least it was only half a strand and I can fix it, but its such a pain in the ass! I guess its my fault for making the tree edible.

Garland & finished tree:

With this project being done, I decided to move on to other ventures. I’ve been wanting to paint the kids rooms forever and I figured now would be a good time. Usually painting isn’t that big of a deal for me since I’ve got it down to a science, but I was a little worried about these rooms. Joey wanted red for his room and Mariah asked for a deep plum. Besides black, I can’t think of two more difficult colors to paint, but I wanted them to get the colors they liked so red & purple it is. Plus there really is nothing more blah to me than unpainted, eggshell colored walls…..the kids definitely inherited their love of color from me.

I started in Joey’s room first and was prepared to have to put on at least 4 coats of paint…..I painted my living room a dark red a few years ago and it was a nightmare! But I only ended up needing two coats and used only one can….bonus! I decided to skip the tape this time since it doesn’t really help me and I’m so glad I did….I used an angled brush and it looks so much better! The room is really really bright…..like, can’t close your eyes ever bright ,but it looks awesome! I still need to put his posters in frames and hang them up but I’m mostly done.

I decided to paint Mariah’s room this weekend too….I figured I was already covered in paint, why not add some more. Plus, it was long overdue….she’s turning 15 this month,and she outgrew her room years ago! After Joey’s room went so well I wasn’t worried about Mariah’s at all. For some reason, her room ended up being harder to cover. It was the same kind of paint, but maybe it was because its darker. Not sure, but thankfully I only needed one can with hers too and it is done! I love the color! This is what always happens….I paint a room, love the color and then want to paint all the rooms that color. There is something wrong with me for sure!

I have some before pictures and some “in process” pictures….I probably won’t have the actual afters until I get the rooms all organized and put together and who knows when that will be!

This is Joey’s room:

Mariah’s room: I painted the window panes and doors a nice bright white but I’m too lazy to go back up and take another picture.

Leave a Reply

