No Excuses Snowflake Cookies

20 Dec

I call them this because I’ve come up with every excuse in the book why I can’t make nice decorated cookies – I don’t have the right supplies, I’m not a professional, not enough time, not talented enough, they just don’t work for me, blah blah blah.

In my last post you may have picked up that I’m not a fan of the cookie….love to eat it, hate to decorate it. But yesterday I decided to put my big girl panties on and suck it up. I have to say they turned out better than I thought they would….they aren’t perfect by any means but they came out pretty cute for the teacher’s gift bags that I will put together and post later.

The problem wasn’t any that I listed above….I really believe it was because I didn’t have the right recipe or consistency for the royal icing, but thanks to my friend Tonia  I finally got it right.

Please believe me when I tell you that if I can figure this out so can you….I’ve had so many cookie disasters and ended up frustrated so many times that I almost gave up all together.

I made the cookie dough by hand….I lent my mixer out and forgot to get it back and it was hard, especially creaming the butter and sugar, and my arm felt like it would fall off but the consistency turned out great. I got the mixer back later and made the royal icing with it…..I’ve never tried that by hand and don’t think I ever will!

I’m going to give you the recipes I used and I’m hoping some of you will try it out because it really is worth it when its done.

Rolled Sugar Cookies …I got this from allrecipes.com

1 1/2 cups butter, softened  (I used Blue Bonnet)

2 cups white sugar

4 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

5 cups all purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Stir in the flour, baking powder, and salt. Cover, and chill dough for at least one hour (or overnight).
  2. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Roll out dough on floured surface 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick. Cut into shapes with any cookie cutter. Place cookies 1 inch apart on ungreased cookie sheets.
  3. Bake 6 to 8 minutes in preheated oven. Cool completely.

Royal Icing: In a mixing bowl:

5 tbsp meringue powder

3/4 cup warm water

Whisk by hand until there is no more water, just foam.

Pour in a whole bag of powdered sugar and turn mixer on low/medium for about 8 minutes.

Add some of the icing to a bowl and add food coloring (I used gel) to get the right color.

Consistency for outline of cookie: it should be like gel toothpaste – thicker, but not so thick that you can’t pipe it through a small tip or bag

To outline: color the icing and put in plastic decorating bag, and cut small hole at bottom. Pipe around cookie.

To flood cookie: after you are done outlining the cookie, use a spray bottle if you have it …if not add tiny bits of water at a time until you get it to the point that you can either spoon it on the cookie like I did or put it in a plastic decorating bag with a round tip and fill it in.

Wait until outline is dry, and either spoon the icing on and spread around or put in a plastic bag and cut hole and flood in.

For the snowflakes I put the original white icing in a plastic decorating bag, cut it at the bottom a little and drew them on. But wait for awhile until cookie is dry!

I know some decorators put seconds to their icing to describe the consistency but I went by look:

I’m going to add some pictures to see if it will help….sorry about the quality – I was lazy and used my phone.

After these cookies have dried for at least a whole day or two you can stack them, or put them in clear cookie bags and tie with a ribbon or sit with a cup of coffee and eat them all.

One Response to “No Excuses Snowflake Cookies”

  1. Lauren January 2, 2013 at 4:25 pm #

    I made cookies just like this (and blogged about them too!). I spent time struggling with a snowflake cookie cutter, but yours look just as good!

Leave a Reply

