Go bold or get out….

28 Dec

Christmas was really great at my house this year….we did lots of family stuff, I got most everything done that I wanted to and the kids loved their gifts. I really wish it could last longer, but I guess its time to move on to other things.

I’m not sure if I shared this on here or not but my puppy/shark ate my down comforter and as if that wasn’t bad enough she ate my duvet cover that went over it. My Pottery Barn duvet cover. My I-never-buy-anything-really-expensive-for-myself-but-decided-to-splurge duvet cover. Oh and of course she ate a hole in the sheet and pillowcase. She’s lucky she’s so damn cute.

Anyway, my bedroom is a hot mess. Not messy, just a hot mess. The color on the walls is a weird pumpkiny orange, the bedding is all mismatched now and I have a gigantic 100 year old piano that is never leaving. Sounds inviting right?

I actually close my door now when people come over because it looks so bad(its on the first floor). Well, its almost the new year and I’m not going into it with my bedroom this way. Not that I’ve painted, cleaned and organized the kids bedrooms, I can finally start working in mine.

I like nice bold colors and funky themes…..I don’t get to really decorate the way I want to in most of the other rooms since its shared space, but my husband told me that I can do whatever I want to the bedroom. I said whatever? He said whatever. That’s all I needed to hear.

I ordered a new white down comforter for the bed and decided to repaint the room. I painted a dark plum on my daughter’s walls and fell in love with it so I’m thinking thats what I will do in my room. I’ve hated the piano ever since I’ve moved it in there but its not coming out. I can’t leave it the way it is so I decided to paint it. A bright funky green.

Here are some before and during pics of the piano project. When its all done my walls will be deep plum purple, the bedding and curtains will be bright white, & the piano is a bright green. I’m also thinking of painting some frames bright colors like turquoise, hot pink, and yellow and displaying them on the walls….maybe with chalkboards in them. I’m not sure, but I’m going for lots of color and funk.

IMG_1654

2 Responses to “Go bold or get out….”

  1. Lauren January 2, 2013 at 4:24 pm #

    This looks awesome. I love the bold color.

Leave a Reply

