Thats a fat bunny.

3 Apr

Its been almost three weeks of no caffeine and I’m finally feeling much better. I actually have a bit of energy to work out and I’m trying to get back to my healthy eating. That means its recipe time! I’m thinking of making a pizza with cauliflower crust….I will let you know how that goes.

First things first though…..last year a family member made bread shaped in a bunny for Easter and used it as a veggie tray. I thought it was so cute and I remembered it this year when it was time to make Easter dinner. I looked for a tutorial but only found pictures of the bunny after it was put together so I just made the dough into shapes, formed a bunny and let it sit out for a little bit. Actually, for a long time….too long. My bunny morphed into something “Pilsbury doughboy-ish”. I threw him in the oven anyway and I have to say he came out pretty cute. But then I left it too close to the edge of my table and the dog ate his left ear and paw. I couldn’t stand the thought of throwing my bunny away so I removed the pieces, covered them with spinach and put veggies on top. Don’t judge me 🙂

The first picture is right after I put him together, the next is what happens when you let dough rise for too long and the last is the final veggie tray.

 

To make Mr. Bunny Bread, I used 2 loaves refrigerated bread dough and just cut them and formed them to make bunny parts. I recommend only leaving it out to rise for about 30-45 minutes and not the 4 hours that I did. Brush with an egg and bake in oven preheated to 350 for about 30 minutes or until golden brown. Let the bread cool completely and hollow out tummy for dip. Place on tray covered with greens and add some veggies. 

I know a lot of people use raisins for the eyes and slivered almonds for the teeth but I had neither so I used a black jelly bean cut in half for the eyes and skipped the teeth. This was a big hit and much more fun than the normal veggie tray. 

 

ImageImage

 

Image

Leave a Reply

