Quinoa Stuffed Mini Peppers (gluten free)

6 Apr

I thought I would be a little adventurous and make something I’ve never tried before. On my path of “clean eating” I’ve come across the mention of quinoa many many times. I’ve never even heard of it before, but I was willing to give it my best shot. Its a seed, but you cook it like a grain and can use it in place of rice or other grains. 

First, this stuff is expensive! A small box of it was $5.00 and while that might not sound like a lot, if you eat it every day it can add up. After looking at the package, I was convinced it would be gross so I really wasn’t worried about buying it again. I looked up some recipes and decided on quinoa stuffed mini peppers. Mostly because I bought mini peppers on a whim and had no idea what to do with them.

It is pretty easy to make and only took about 20 minutes. After the quinoa was done I was even more skeptical than before but I gave it a try. Not my favorite thing in the world. It wasn’t bad….it just didn’t have a taste. I was a little disappointed, but then I added the rest of the ingredients and it was a big difference. As long as I don’t ever have to eat it plain, I can definitely eat it every day. 

The stuffed peppers were ok, but not great. I believe its my fault though….I didn’t season them enough. If I would have added more spices they would have been really good. So I’m posting the recipe and then if you guys make it, you can add whatever you want to it.

Image

QUINOA STUFFED MINI PEPPERS:

1 cup quinoa, rinsed

2 cups water

Make according to package.

While the quinoa is cooking, saute some onions, mushrooms, garlic, chopped up peppers and tomatoes. Mix all ingredients together and add some salt, pepper, and any other spices of your choice. I added about 2 tbsps of spaghetti sauce to add a little flavor and bind it all together. Chop the tops off the mini peppers, clean out any insides and stuff with mixture. Add a little shredded mozzarella cheese and bake in preheated oven @ 350 for 20-25 minutes.

The way I made these, they are gluten-free and vegetarian, but you can adjust based on your needs. Add a salad and this would be a nice healthy lunch.

 

 

 

ImageImageImage

 

Leave a Reply

