What a difference a coat of paint makes!

17 Apr

For those who know me or have followed me for awhile, know that I’m kind of addicted to painting. The feeling I get when I transform something blah or yucky looking is awesome, so I try to do it as often as I can. I’ve painted about every room in my house so it was time to take it outside….it definitely needed it!

I started with my deck on the back of the house and then decided the back door needed help. I paint this stupid deck every freaking year! With the wear and tear from the dogs, people walking on the steps and the salt and snow it looks awful come spring. This year was a bit of a challenge to keep the dogs of the porch since they are both active puppies and they can pretty much jump over or climb under any barrier I put in place. They are lucky they are so damn cute.

I didn’t like the color green I painted the deck last year so I had to figure out a new one, but it had to be in the green family since thats what color the garage door and side door are. I went to the store, found one I liked and brought it home. Apparently I’m getting better at this stuff because I picked out the exact color of the outside doors.

I started with the deck….which is a pain in the ass with all the slat things and railing. Then I moved onto the door that my one husky/shepard loves to scratch, jump on and basically try to tear apart.  I’ve never painted an exterior door before and am way too lazy to take it off the hinges so I just opened it, painted it and let it dry. Much easier!

The paint cost me $22 and I already had a paintbrush, roller and tray so I’m pretty happy with how thrifty this ended up being.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

3 Responses to “What a difference a coat of paint makes!”

  1. Rejoice For The Day April 24, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

    I am inspired! I have several need-to-be-painted items at my house and my back deck and front door are on the list. Looks like you did a great job!

  2. Rhonda Sittig May 3, 2013 at 2:23 pm #

    You’re making me want to get going on repainting the bathroom– you porch looks great!!

    • gelisgoodies May 4, 2013 at 11:43 am #

      Thank you! I have a bathroom that needs repainted too, but I’m lacking the motivation. 🙂

Leave a Reply

