Eat me.

17 May

I imagine this is what my carrot cake would say if it had lips. I don’t usually love anything I make because well, its me. I have a tendency to be a bit hard on myself because most of the time I think I can do better. I have to say thought that I think I have perfected my carrot cake. Its really the first cake I came up with where I didn’t use a base recipe. I was curious one night and wondered what would happen if I just made my own amounts up and threw everything in a bowl. Apparently what happens is yummy goodness. I will warn you that this cake is neither low calorie or healthy. But it is delicious!

And of course, what is a carrot cake without the cream cheese frosting? Well, I don’t know what but definitely not as good. A couple of weeks ago I was at Panera and my daughter chose a big carrot cake muffin…..it was really good and it had cream cheese in the middle. My husband really seemed to love this idea so I thought I would try it out. Delicious! If you are looking for a good cake or muffins to try out or bring to an event you won’t be sorry.

I couldn’t find any good muffin tins so I decided to make it as a bundt cake. It came out moist (sorry, I hate that word!) and full of flavor. The original recipe can be found under “carrot cake” ….I made a couple adjustments. Yes you are reading it right….there is cayenne in it. It brings out the flavor and gives it a kick but its not too spicy.

Carrot Cake

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups vegetable oil
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsps baking soda
  • 2 tsps baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 ½ tsp cayenne pepper
  • 3 cups grated carrots
  • 1 1/2 cups raisins (optional)                                                                                               I imagine this would be good with chopped walnuts or pecans but I haven’t tried that yet.

Cream Cheese Filling:

1 8 oz package cream cheese

4 tbsp butter

1/2 cup sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

Cream Cheese Frosting

1 package cream cheese (8oz)

4 tbsp butter, softened

1 tsp vanilla

powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 350 a spray a bundt pan with cake release spray, or grease and flour.

Cake:

Mix together the eggs ,vegetable oil, sugar and vanilla. Add other ingredients in order one and a time until well mixed. Spoon 2/3 mixture into bundt pan.

Filling:

Cream together cream cheese and sugar and then add other ingredients until well mixed. Spoon onto carrot cake mixture.

Add remaining carrot cake mixture and bake for 1 hour or until toothpick or fork comes out clean.

Allow cake to cool before frosting. I suggest letting cake cool for at least an hour and then putting in freezer for about 45 minutes. When cake is completely cool, ice the cake.

Frosting:

Using a mixer, blend together the cream cheese and butter until well mixed. Add vanilla and keep mixing on low. Add powdered sugar a little at a time until it gets the consistency of icing. I don’t have a good measurement for this since it depends on a few factors….but maybe 1/2 a bag. If you use too much, thin it with a little milk.

Oh and one more thing. I took terrible pictures of this cake so please don’t judge on looks alone. I was way too lazy to get the good camera out and worry about lighting. I took them from my phone and I was lucky to get a picture before it was gone.

This is a pic of the filling spooned on….before the final mixture was added.

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

