I just packed like a man….

7 Jun

I’m leaving for a weekend trip to NYC tomorrow and normally I would pack 5 different outfits because well, you never know what you are going to need. In fact, I do this all the time….every time I go somewhere my bag is so full the zipper is struggling to stay on. My husband on the other hand throws a t-shirt and some shorts in a bag and he’s ready. I then decided to think like a man when I packed.

I really didn’t want to check a bag for just the weekend so I tried to keep it as light as possible. My husband’s clothes, my clothes, camera, makeup bag, shoes and toiletries all fit in one small bag. I really have no idea how this happened…..I have to say I’m very impressed with myself.

 

Basically, I’m wearing the black shirt and capris on the plane so I don’t even need to pack anything for tomorrow and then I will probably just wear the same capris on Sunday with the blue shirt. I’m also bringing a tshirt and yoga pants for lounging at hotel and then a white cardigan that goes with both shirts just in case it gets chilly. I have a black pair of flats for walking around the city and I’m also putting my flip flops in my purse in case my feet start to hurt. I threw some jewelry in my makeup bag and my camera is fully charged…..I don’t even know myself right now.

Now allI have to do is get over my nervousness about flying and I will be good to go! I don’t have a set plan…..we have just decided to take the subway into the city from the hotel and wander around, see some sites, eat some good food, maybe meet some interesting people and have a great time. I will make sure to take lots of pictures 🙂Image

3 Responses to “I just packed like a man….”

  1. Peggy Tee June 7, 2013 at 9:06 pm #

    Wow. Excellent work packing light! It’s much easier to do when it’s summer too. Hope you have a safe flight and an amazing time in NYC, I miss that city! Safe travels.

  2. gelisgoodies June 7, 2013 at 9:08 pm #

    Thank you! I’m really excited…..its my first time there and I can’t wait!

  3. ladylighttravel June 8, 2013 at 12:07 pm #

    Great foray into packing light. Creating a capsule wardrobe where you can mix/match/layer your items gives lots of freedom on what kind of outfit to wear. Well done on a first try!

Leave a Reply

