My day and a half in NYC

25 Jun

I really suck at keeping up this blog sometimes. I started writing about my mini trip with my husband to NYC about two weeks ago and never finished it or came back to it. At this point I don’t feel like pulling it back up and adding to it so I will just start a new post…..a much smaller one.

We had a great time and when we have more money and time to spend we are definitely going back! We stayed at a hotel in Astoria and I would love to have more time to go back and check out that area. It looked like there were lots of little shops, bars, stores, etc worth stopping into.

LaGuardia airport was much less crowded, confusing and crazy than I imagined it would be. In fact it was much easier to navigate than when I went to Colorado and had to deal with the Denver airport. It helped that the hotel provided a shuttle for us and we didn’t have to worry about getting a taxi.

We were pretty hungry when we got there so we found a place called Krave Cafe within walking distance. I really loved that place…..it had really big windows and was on the corner so I could watch what was going on outside without actually being out there. The service was great and the food was really good and inexpensive.

I rode a subway for the first time on this trip and I loved it! Actually it was one of the things I missed when I got home. I really wish we had something like that where we lived…..not to get around the city but maybe to travel to other cities. How great would it be to jump on the train and go out for the night, have a few drinks, maybe see a concert and then get back on the train for home. If whoever’s in charge of these things is reading this, can you work on that? Thanks.

Times Square was a madhouse! There was just so much to see, and so many people everywhere. We had fun but its somewhere I would only want to visit once. I’m more interested in checking out less touristy areas. I will say that the ToysRUs was amazing and we will have to take the kids. We could spend an entire afternoon in there.

Central Park was beautiful and enormous. We walked around there for an hour and barely scratched the surface. If I lived in NY I could image this is where you could find me and the kids on nice days.

On the advice of a friend, we checked out a place called Rudy’s Bar on 9th ave and I liked it. It was what I call a hole in the wall or dive bar, but in a good way. The beer was cheap and it was a nice place to take a break …..I didn’t take my picture with the pig or eat free hot dogs though. Maybe next time Rita 🙂

We basically walked and walked and walked, spent some much needed quality time together, took lots of pictures and saw some really great buildings, sights, etc. I really wish we would have had more time but I’m already planning another trip…..well, in my head but still.

There were many things I liked about NYC but the major attraction to me is that you can just get lost in the crowd. Where I live, you can’t take 5 steps any direction without getting the “up down” from someone who feels the need to be in your business. But there, no one cares what the hell you are wearing or doing which is a nice feeling. I also loved just people watching because there were so many interesting people, fashions, couples, etc to keep you interested for hours.

I only have a few pieces of advice for those of you who are going and never visited before. Keep in mind I visited once for a day and a half so this is the blind leading the blind.

– Wear comfortable shoes. My friend Angie suggested cute flats with gel inserts. Do that. Also, I carried flip flops with me because I had a feeling my feet would hurt by the end of the night. I was glad I did. If you do that, be careful on the subway!

– Don’t wear anything fussy that you will have to pull at, adjust, etc. We all want to look good, but this is not the time to put fashion before comfort. Wear something cute but that you would feel good walking 8 hours in.

– When crossing the street, do not be that idiot that thinks they are too awesome to wait for the signal. Just from what I witnessed, the taxi drivers will not hesitate to hit you. Seriously.

– I suggest taking the subway for travel…..its convenient, cheap and makes the most sense to me. Although, I have a really hard time with directions so if my husband wasn’t there guiding me I would probably still be lost.

– Have fun!ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

